Skip to content

Two ordained transitory deacons for KK Archdiocese

Classmates five – Deacons Dominic Tan, Russell Lawrine, Gilbert Marcus, David Gasikol, Simon Lau – pose obligingly for the camera after the Mass, 11 Mar 2018, Sacred Heart Cathedral Karamunsing.

KOTA KINABALU — Two seminarians were ordained to the diaconate at the Sacred Heart Cathedral here on 11 Mar 2018.

Over 1000 people including family members and friends witnessed the diaconal ordinations of Russell Lawrine and Gilbert Marcus by Archbishop John Wong.

Born and bred in Tenghilan, thirty-one-year-old Russell is the eldest son of the late Lawrine M Samin and Mdm Russe bte Kumpas. Russell underwent his primary and secondary education  in the government schools of Tenghilan.  Prior to entering aspirancy in 2008 in Kota Kinabalu, he worked as a housekeeper at the Grand Borneo Hotel KK and as a clerk at the Environment Department.

His companion, Gilbert, 36, is the 8th child in a brood of seven boys and four girls born to the late Marcus Dompok and the late Cecilia Gissong of Inobong.  He underwent his basic education at SRK St Theresa Inobong and SM St Michael/SMK Datuk Peter Mojunting Penampang.  He worked for eight years in various government institutions before entering the aspirancy in 2010 following the footsteps of his brother Florian who was ordained priest in 2011.

Representing the two of them, ne0-ordained Deacon Gilbert thanked everyone who has helped them in their priestly formative journey.

At the end of the ordination Mass, Abp Wong echoed the thanks of the deacons to those who have helped to make the event possible.

The new deacons will continue to serve in their respective parishes (Russell at the cathedral, Gilbert at St Michael Penampang) until further notice.

Among the concelebrants (mostly local priests) were Abp Emeritus John Lee, two Korean priests and three deacons: Dominic Tan and Simon Lau of Kuala Lumpur (ordained Jan 23) and David Gasikol of Keningau (ordained Feb 25).

Back To Top