Skip to content

St Peter’s College (Initiation Year) 

The Initiation Year of St Peter’s College Kuching transferred to Kota Kinabalu in 2001.  The formation house was blessed and opened by Bishop Lee on 5 February 2001. It has a long history and passed through many changes.  It started as a minor seminary by Fr Valentine Weber in 1930.  Then it became known simply as the Kota Kinabalu or KK Seminary before it became the first venue for Maktab Nasional (a private diocesan secondary school) in 1985, then Seri Murni Hostel for Girls and Women ran by the Good Shepherd Sisters in 1989, and returned in full circle to be a formation house in 2001.

Address: St Peter’s College (Initiation Year)
575 Jalan Sang Kancil Tiga,
P.O. Box 10225, 88802 Kota Kinabalu Sabah
Tel: 088-236102 (Staff), 088-254735 (Student)
Fax: 088-237225
Director: Fr Mattheus A Luta

Directors Past & Present
Fr John Chong
Fr Nicholas Ong
Fr Michael Modoit
2014 Fr Rayner Bisius 2014
1.1.2018 Fr Mattheus Luta

Aspirants’ Formation House


The formation programme for aspiring candidates to the diocesan priesthood began with a two-month
seminarians course under Fr Louis Kessels mhm in 1978. Later, as there was a serious need to address the lack of English proficiency skills among the candidates, it developed into a one-year course under Fr Jan van der Salm mhm. In 2016, it became a two-year course.

Address: Catholic Archdiocesan Centre
Lorong Hiburan 3, Taman Hiburan, Jalan Penampang,
P.O. Box 10225, 88802 Kota Kinabalu
Tel: 088-712297, 088-715017
Fax: 088-711222
Director: Fr Joshua Liew

Directors Past & Present
1988-1993: Fr Jan van der Salm mhm
1994-1996: Fr Patrick Erik Jerome
1997-2001: Fr Nicholas Ong
2001-2004: Fr Michael Modoit
1.9.2004-2010: Fr John Wong
20.1.2011: Fr Wilfred Atin
1.1.2018: Fr Joshua Liew
8.6.2019 Fr. Isidore Gilbert

Back To Top