skip to Main Content

The Archdiocese of Kota Kinabalu is an archdiocese of the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church in the State of Sabah in Malaysia on Borneo Island. It has an area of 4,993 sq km (1,928 sq miles). It is made up of many races–Kadazan, Dusun, Murut, Bajau, Chinese, Indian, Filipino, Timorese, etc–who live in peace and harmony most of the time. It comprises the Ecclesiastical Province of Kota Kinabalu with Kota Kinabalu as the metropolitan archdiocese, and the Dioceses of Keningau and Sandakan as suffragan sees. It has nineteen parishes with Sacred Heart Cathedral Kota Kinabalu as the seat of the archbishop.


Approximate general population                                        :    1,489,943

Approximate Catholic population                                       :       228,251

Parishes                                                                                    :                   19

Outstations                                                                                 :                  289

Adult baptism (above 7 years old)                                      :            1,836

Infant/Children Baptism (below 7 years old)                   :          2,637

Priests                                                                                        :                   40

Religious Sisters                                                                      :                   136

Religious Brothers                                                                  :                     8

Seminarians                                                         :                                  10

Catechists (full-time, part-time, Volunteers                     :                     598

Source: Catholic Resource Centre,  Archdiocese of Kota Kinabalu

Back To Top