Skip to content

Pope Francis names 17 new cardinals, including 1 Malaysian

fernandezVATICAN CITY – Pope Francis at the end of his Angelus on 9 Oct 2016 announced the creation of 17 new Cardinals, including one Malaysian.

A consistory will be held on the 19 of November, the eve of the closing of the Jubilee of Mercy.

Thirteen of the new Cardinals will be under 80 years and will be eligible to vote in a conclave.

The Holy Father said that those chosen come from five continents. Below is the list of new Cardinals

Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy
Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic
Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain
Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil
Archbishop Blase J Cupich, USA
Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh
Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela
Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium
Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius
Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, USA
Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico
Archbishop John Ribat, Papua Nuova Guinea
Archbishop Mons. Joseph William Tobin USA
Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy
Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho
Father Ernest Simoni, presbytery of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Scutari – Albania.

Born on 22 Apr 1932 in Sg Petani, Fernandez was ordained priest in 1966.  He was appointed Bishop of Penang in 1977 and was ordained bishop in 1978.  He became Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur in 1983.  He retired in 2003. – Vatican Radio/Other Sources

Back To Top