Skip to content



Ranau sits 108 km (67 mi) east of Kota Kinabalu and 227 km (141 mi) west of Sandakan. Situated in the West Coast division of Sabah, the hilly district of Ranau is located 1, 176 meters above sea level. It is inhabited by an almost entirely Dusun ethnic community and is on the highway connecting Kota Kinabalu and Sandakan. Just 20 kilometers away from Kinabalu Park, it is one of the gateways to the National Park, Poring Hot Springs, and Sabah Tea Garden.  Ranau’s diverse flora ranges from rich tropical lowland and hill rainforest to tropical mountain, sub-alpine forest and scrub on the higher elevations and particularly abundant in species with examples of flora from as far as China, Australia and the Himalayas, as well as pan-tropical flora.

Kinabalu Park has been recognised by UNESCO as a Centre of Plant Diversity for Southeast Asia.  In December 2000, the Kinabalu Park was designated by UNESCO as Malaysia’s first World Heritage Site.

Ranau was home to the largest mining project in Malaysia, the Mamut Copper Mine, before it ceased operations in 1999.  At the peak of its mining activity, Ranau was transformed into a thriving township. The mining company constructed the Ranau Bridge across Liwagu River, the Ranau Golf Course, and also made donations to school building funds, buses, and bus shelters.

Kundasang, home of Mount Kinabalu lies in Ranau. Ranau was also the terminus of the notorious Sandakan Death March during the World War II. The Kundasang War Memorial serves to commemorate the sacrifices and bravery of the fallen heroes.

The Catholic community began in 1952 under Bundu Tuhan.  St Benedict School was opened in 1963.  The first church was built in 1968.  It was renovated in 1985.  The convent was built in 1991 and renovated in 2000.  The present rectory was built in 1993.  The chapel was built in 1994.  The present church was built in 2000.  It was designated as one of the Holy Doors during the Jubilee Year of Mercy (8 Dec 2015-20 Nov 2016).


Sr Lilian Unsoh fsic (professed 1980)
Sr Marysia Angku fsic (professed 1994)
Sr Clara Orow fsic (professed 1995)
Fr Jalius Sading (ordained 2001)
Fr Wilfred Atin (ordained 2005)
Sr Noemi Mejia fsic (professed 2008)
Sr Jeromie Pejunis fsic (professed 2008)
Fr Postinus Kurup (ordained 2011)
Fr Jack Jojimi Sigam (ordained 2014)
Fr Abel Madisang (ordained 2015)

Pembahagian 8 Zon Paroki Ranau

Zon Pekan
1. St. Peter Claver Ranau (Pusat)
2. St. Sebastian, Marakau
3. St. Bede Kokob
4. St. Charles Borromeo,
5. St. Jude, Maukab
6. St. Joan of Arc, Longut
7. St. Mary Gorretti, Tiang Lama
8. St. Fredolin of Sackingen, Gaur
9. Our Lady of Church, Kilimu

Zon Bongkud
1. St. Victor, Bongkud (Pusat)
2. St. Jerome of Bethlehem, Lutut
3. St. Dominic Savio, Langsat
4. St. Geoffry, Waluhu
5. St. Cornelius of Pope,
6. St. Joseph Husband of Mary,
7. St. Martin de Porres,
           Singgaron Baru
8. Our Lady of Fatima, Kowiyan


Zon Kibbas
1. St. Augustine of Hippo, Kibbas
2. St. Martha of Bethany, Kauluan
3. St. Maria of Goretti, Ruhukan
4. St. John of the Cross, Tambiau
5. St. Paul of Tarsus, Toboh Baru
6. St. Juan Diego, Kiwawoi
7. St. Padre Pio, Manantanga

Zon Nalapak
1. St. Joseph the Worker,
      Kebu Baru (Pusat)
2. St. Francis of Assisi, Kinorotuan
3. St. John Paul II, Nalapak
4. St. Anne, Sedul II
5. St. Bruno, Nabutan

Zon Paginatan
1. St. Peter the Apostle, Paginatan
2. St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen,
3. St. Patrick de Irlande, Soborong
4. St. Francis Xavier, Sagindai
5. St. Andrew Kim Taegon,

Zon Perancangan
1. St. Gabriel, Perancangan
2. St. David, Lobou Timbua
3. St. Matthew, Togop Darat
4. St. Francis of Paola, Pinawantai
5. St. Filipus Neri, Lobou Baru
6. St. Pedro Calaungsod, Monggis
7. St. Michael the Archangel,



Zon Nunuk Ragang
1. St. Edwin of Nothumbria,
       Maringkan (Pusat)
2. St. Anthonius, Toupos
3. St. Henry, Tompios
4. St. Anthony of Padua,
        Nunuk Ragang
5. St. Monica de Paula, Bitoon
6. St. Petrus, Wakaku
7. St. JOseph of Cupertino,
8. St. Nicholas of Myra, Kigiwit

Zon Lobou
1. St. Charles Lwanga,
       Lobou Lama (Pusat)
2. St. Stanislau, Tibabar
3. St. Maria Ratu Rosari,
4. St. Theresa of Avila, Tumbalang
5. St. John, Sumbilingon
6. St. Vincent de Paul, Kantas
7. St. Philip the Apostle, Togibang

Pastors Past & Present
Fr Terpstra mhm 1925-1956
Fr Lampe mhm 1925-1956
Fr Putman mhm 1925-1956
Fr Roetenberg mhm 1956-1962
Fr Frank Cowan mhm 1956-1962
Fr Jan van der Salm mhm 1964-1976, 1979-1981
Fr J Oostdijck mhm 1964-1965
Fr Haas mhm 1965-1966
Fr Herman Saraber mhm 1966-1967
Fr John Rooney mhm 1967-1970
Fr A Wenker mhm 1970
Fr Augustine Amandus 1976-1979
Fr William Poilis 1979-1980
Fr Benjamin Basintal 1980-1983
Fr Cornelius Piong 1981-1987

Pastors Past & Present

Fr Joseph Liansim 1983-1987
Fr Bede Anthonius 1987-1993
Fr Boniface Kimsin 1991
Fr Bruno Yasun 1994-1995, 2006-2014
Fr Alex Jimsy Julius 1996-1998
Fr David Sham 1993-2001
Fr Aloysius Fidelis 2001
Fr Tony Mojiwat 2001-2003
Fr Fundes Motiung 2001-2002
Fr Francis Tsen 2010
Fr Nicholas Stephen 2014
Fr Florian Marcus 2014-2017
Fr Daniel Jamilong
Fr Maxmillianno Hontor (16.5. 2020 – 30.11.2023)
Fr. Ned Columba
Fr. Edward Raymond (Oct 2022 – March 2023)
Fr Ambrose Atang (March 2023 -)
Fr. Wilson Francis (1.12.2023 -)


P.O. Box 312,
89308 Ranau Sabah

Tel: 088-875250
Fax: 088-876250

Parish Priest:
     Fr Ambrose Atang
Asst Parish Priests:
     Fr Ned Columba
     Fr Wilson Francis

PPC Chairperson: Dr. Gofri Nenghilon (2023-2026)
Secretary: Felicia Bidi (2023-2026)

Masses available:
Sat: 6:00pm (BM)
Sun: 8:00am (KD)
10:15 am (BM)

Back To Top