Skip to content

Timeline of Archdiocesan History
Although there were many missionary attempts in the past to evangelise Borneo Island, it was only in the times of Don Carlos Cuarteron and later, the Mill Hill Missionaries, that Christianity took root on Sabah soil.

1855, Sep 4
Erection of the Prefecture Apostolic of Labuan and Borneo.
Prefect Apostolic: Don Carlos Cuarteron (1855-1879)

1857, Apr 16
Official establishment of the Mission in Labuan.

Prefect Apostolic: Thomas Jackson mhm (1880-1895)

Administrator: Anthony Haidegger mhm (1895-1897)

Prefect Apostolic: Edmund Dunn mhm (1897-1927)

1927, Feb 7
Erection of the Prefecture Apostolic of North Borneo.
Prefect Apostolic: August Wachter mhm (1927-1945)

Administrator: Arnold Verhoeven mhm (1945-1947)

Prefect Apostolic: James Buis mhm (1947-1952)

1952, Feb 14
Erection of the Apostolic Vicariate of Jesselton.
Vicar Apostolic: James Buis mhm (1952-1970)

Vicar Apostolic: Peter Chung Hoan Ting (1970-1975)

Vicar Apostolic: Simon Fung Kui Hong (1975-1976)

1976, Jul 25
The Apostolic Vicariate of Jesselton became the Diocese of Kota Kinabalu.
First Bishop: Rt Rev Simon Fung Kui Hong (1976-1985)

Diocesan Administrator: John Lee Yit Yaw (1985-1987)

Second Bishop: Rt Rev John Lee Yit Yaw (1987 till present)

1993, Feb 2
Erection of the Diocese of Keningau by Pope John Paul II, with Msgr Cornelius Piong as Bishop.

2007, July 16
Erection of the Diocese of Sandakan by Pope Benedict XVI, with Rev Julius Dusin Gitom as Bishop.

2008, May 23
Erection of the Ecclesiastical Province of Kota Kinabalu, raising the Diocese of Kota Kinabalu to an archdiocese, with Keningau and Sandakan as suffragan sees; Pope Benedict XVI appointed Bishop John Lee as the first metropolitan of the province.

2013, Jan 24
Installation of Archbishop John Wong Soo Kau as second Archbishop of Kota Kinabalu.


The Missionary Church

Back To Top